Meditating, Good for the Soul…

According to the article, “How to Meditate: 10 Important Tips,” meditation is a tool to help combat stress.  I’ve been reading a lot about meditating.  In its simplest form, meditating, can free your mind and allow you to consider “nothingness.”  Mary Jaksch’s article also discusses the importance of posture, eyes, breathe, and focus.  She talks about “creating a special place.”  This is where I am already at a stumbling block.  I would love to “create” a place to meditate,but since I have a hard time getting folded laundry put away or cleaning my kitchen, creating a place to meditate is not high on my priority list.  This being the case, tomorrow, I plan to start this meditation journey in my bedroom after my husband has left for work.  This will allow me to have a quiet place to meditate (and maybe I can get it just clean enough that my OCD doesn’t take over and turn my meditation time into cleaning time.)

I anticipate having trouble “quieting the mind.”  According to the article, “Meditation for Beginners: 20 Practical Tips for Quieting the Mind,” stretching and comfort can help one “quiet the mind.”  In the article, it also states that using a candle can help one focus on one thing.  I enjoy candlelight and it seems to create a relaxing environment for me, so that is a tool I plan to incorporate.  I also plan to incorporate some meditation music.  I have used calming music in my classroom to calm myself and my students with good results, so I see no reason why it won’t help me in this endeavor.

I’ve noticed as I continue to research meditation that some people take it to extremes.  https://twitter.com/PowerOfBuddhism  On Twitter, the Power of Buddhism, states you should start with 15 minutes a day for a week and increase by 5 minutes each week until you reach 45 minutes.  Does anyone have an extra 45 minutes a day?  I’m pretty sure, I don’t unless I choose to not feed my husband and children or choose not to do the laundry.  I think it’s one of those things where you have to take the things that speak positively to you from various sources and create your own reality of how it will work for you.  I feel that if I can get up to 15 minutes of meditation once a day, I will be making progress.  I don’t anticipate being able to start with 15 minutes, but I think I can work up to it.  I guess I should go vacuum my quiet area, so I can get started on something that’s “good for the soul,” tonight…meditation

5 thoughts on “Meditating, Good for the Soul…

  1. I have always thought that I would benefit a lot from meditation. I tried it out a few times when I was beginning college because of how stressed out I was. I could never get my mind to shut up though. And I always had problems sitting still. Perhaps I should keep trying with it though. I hope your meditating goes well and does not turn into cleaning time!

    Like

    1. It is taking baby steps for sure. I seem to feel I always need to be “doing” something. Initially I thought meditating first thing in the morning would be good. Now, I am contemplating doing it more in the evening or right before bed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

