It’s Monday, no I mean, it’s Thursday! What are you reading?

With the best of intentions, I fully intended to write this blog on Monday, but ….. life happened!  Perhaps it was not the smartest decision to take two graduate classes, while teaching full time, and during Speech season.  My full-time job, teaching seventh, eigth and ninth graders English, and two sections of High School Speech, plus coaching our High School Speech Team, has left little in the way of time.  So, if you see that time has spun away from me, you will now understand.

kalexander 19

I started this week reading Crossover by Kwane Alexander.  This novel in verse is the perfect to get boys (and athletes in general) into poetry.  The story line if relatable and it is incredibly well-written.  I’m excited to share this  book with the large male population in my classes.

 

 

 

 

In addition, I’ve started to read The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak.  This is an interesting piece of historical fiction.  Many of my friends have highly recommended it.  So far, I have not been disappointed.

 

These are the two books I am focused on this week, although I have others on the back-burner so to speak.  Happy reading.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, no I mean, it’s Thursday! What are you reading?

  1. I do not have your busy schedule, but between subbing full-time, attempting to keep up with my 4 kids’ crazy schedules, a full course load at CSC, and having family show up unexpectedly from out of town (surprise!), it seems all of my best intentions flopped a little this week too. So goes life, I guess. Is it terrible that I am a little glad to not be the only one still getting my bearings this semester?? Although, I do hope you have a smoother week next week!

    And I am going to check out crossover. It looks like a great book, so thank you for the recommend.

    Like

  2. Life does get crazy sometimes! I feel your pain this semester: four kids, two classes, teaching 4th grade. Okay… you might have a little more than me with speech 😉 I just tell myself, one week at a time. It has worked thus far. Good luck with your speech season and classes!

    Like

  3. I completely understand on time simply slipping away. I am only undergraduate with five classes but I have two little boys and currently growing another kid in there so I am super tired and I understand the meaning of simply forgetting to post Monday, haha. I have read The Book Thief, definitely a great choice! You’ll have to let us know what you thought once you’re done.

    Hopefully time evens out, though you have A LOT going on. Good luck with all your classes and speech sessions! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

