Twenty Better Questions, The Big Field by Mike Lupica

the big field mike lupica

  1. What character(s) was your favorite? Why?

Hutch is my favorite character.  His character has a deep passion for baseball and yet, he tries to maintain a positive, supportive attitude towards his entire team.  He really strives to be a team player and not out for himself.  

  1. What character(s) did you dislike? Why?

I disliked Darryl from the very start.  Darryl is an arrogant, showboat.  He thinks he is better than everyone else and enjoys being in the spotlight.  He also likes to brag about how great he is.

  1. Does anyone in this work remind you of anyone you know? Explain.

Unfortunately, I see similar characters in the sports teams at our school and many other schools in the area.  Many today seem to care more about themselves and less about being successful as a team.

  1. Are you like any character in this work? Explain.

I tend to be more like Hutch.  I’m passionate about my activities, but am constantly trying to make myself better.  I’m sure there were times in the past when I may have come off as arrogant, however, as I’ve grown I’ve learned to focus on making myself better constantly.

  1. If you could be any character in this work, who would you be? Explain.

If I could be any character in this work, I would be Hutch.  I like that he tries to stay positive and do the right thing.  In addition, when he makes a big mistake, he owns up to it.  Even with the animosity between him and Darryl, he still helps Darryl get a home run in the game that Hutch wasn’t able to play in by helping him read the pitcher.

  1. What quality(ies) of which character strikes you as a good characteristic to develop within yourself over the years? Why? How does the character demonstrate this quality?

The qualities that Hutch has that are good characteristics include:  a positive attitude, a strong work ethic, and a passion for his sport.  He shows his positive attitude  by encouraging his teammates.  He shows a strong work ethic by continually trying to improve his game.  He shows his passion for the sport with his positive attitude and his work ethic.  

  1. Overall, what kind of a feeling did you have after reading a few paragraphs of this work? Midway? After finishing the work?

 

After a couple of paragraphs, I was somewhat bored with the story.  It is very specific with the baseball terminology, etc., and I’m not a huge baseball fan.  Midway through the story I was feeling more engaged because I could see the real story is the relationships Hutch has with his family and his teammates.  After finishing the book, I felt happy to see the growth in both of the main characters.

  1. Do any incidents, ideas, or actions in this work remind you of your own life or something that happened to you? Explain.

The incident where Darryl intentionally caused Hutch to get hurt on a place is similar to one that happened to me.  Although, I don’t think my teammate was necessarily trying to get me hurt, she was definitely trying to sabotage the play.

  1. Do you like this piece of work? Why or why not?

I like this piece.  I think this piece could be great for teen boys who really love baseball.  I think the baseball theme would carry them through to the rest of the meanings in the book.

  1. Are there any parts of this work that were confusing to you? Which parts? Why do you think you got confused?

I was confused about why Hutch’s father would help Darryl when he didn’t seem to want to help, or even talk to, his own son.  I think it was intentional on the author’s part to create more conflict.

  1. Do you feel there is an opinion expressed by the author through this work? What is it? How do you know this? Do you agree? Why or why not?

I think there is a life lesson in the story about working together and helping each other.  I definitely agree with the importance of working together and helping one another.  It’s normal to be jealous at times, but that doesn’t mean you need to act on it.  Someone else’s success doesn’t take away from you.

  1. Do you think the title of this work is appropriate? Is it significant? Explain. What do you think the title means?

The title is significant as it refers to the field that the championships are played on.  Playing on that field is the ultimate reward for having worked together as a team to be successful.

  1. Would you change the ending of this story in any way? Tell your ending. Why would you change it?

I don’t think I would change the ending at all.  I liked the ending.  You could change it, I suppose, and have the team lose, but keep a good attitude.

  1. What kind of person do you feel the author is? What makes you feel this way?

I feel the author is a good person who wants to help young adults become better, well-adjusted, human beings.  He strives to show examples of people making good choices and making mistakes.  He’s trying to show students how things should be.

  1. How did this work make you feel? Explain.

The Big Field made me feel good.  I’m glad there are books out there trying to show young people the right way to behave in difficult situations.  It’s easy for people to get caught up in their own lives and their abilities, so it’s nice to show them how to be more selfless and team-oriented.

  1. Do you share any of the feelings of the characters in this work? Explain.

I would feel the same way Hutch felt when he saw his dad helping Darryl.  I would have been angry and frustrated if my dad wouldn’t help me practice, but then helped a teammate, especially one who seemed to have it out for me.

  1. Sometimes works leave you with the feeling that there is more to tell. Did this work do this? What do you think might happen?

I think with any good story there could be a continuation of the story.  This story, it itself, doesn’t really need to tell any more to be effective.  It can stand on its’ own.

  1. Would you like to read something else by this author? Why or why not?

I will likely select another Mike Lupica book in the future.  I feel he writes towards a young male population well, so I’d like to be familiar with more of his books so I could recommend them to my students.

  1. What do you feel is the most important word, phrase, passage, or paragraph in this work? Explain why it is important.

I guess one of the most important words in the book was “D-Will,” the nickname Darryl gave himself.  That name in itself shows how arrogant he is at the beginning of the story.  

  1. If you were an English teacher, would you want to share this work with your students? Why or why not?

As an English teacher, I will share this book with my students.  Any student who is passionate about an activity, but especially boys who are passionate about baseball will be able to relate to the characters in the book.

Leave a Reply

